

Government of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago MINISTRY OF FINANCE

CORPORATE COMMUNICATIONS UNIT

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

February 22nd, 2019

MEDIA RELEASE

Appointments to the Board of Directors of The Central Bank of Trinidad and Tobago

On Thursday February 21st, 2019, **The Hon. Colm Imbert, Minister of Finance**, presented instruments of appointment to new members of the Board of Directors of the Central Bank of Trinidad and Tobago (CBTT).

The following persons (whose terms of office will expire in 2020) comprised the membership of the Board of Directors of the CBTT, following the expiration of the terms of office of other members on February 3rd, 2019:-

Dr. Alvin Hilaire (Governor, CBTT)

Dr. Sandra Sookram (Deputy Governor, CBTT)

Mr. Vishnu Dhanpaul (Ministry of Finance – Economist)

Section 5 of the Central Bank Act, Chap. 79:02, as amended by Act No. 23 of 1994, provides for the CBTT to be managed by a Board of Directors, comprising a Governor, not more than two (2) Deputy Governors and not less than six (6) other directors, two (2) of whom may be public service directors.

Section 8, subsection (2) of the Act states that:

"(2) The ordinary directors shall be selected from amongst persons drawn from diverse occupations appearing to the President to be qualified by reason of their experience and capacity in matters relating to finance, economics, accountancy, industry, commerce, law or administration".

.../2



(868) 612-9700 ext. 2804-2809



(868) 627-6108



comm.finance@gov.tt



www.finance.gov.tt

Based on the foregoing, Cabinet recently agreed to the appointment of the undermentioned persons, as members of the Board of Directors of the CBTT for a period of three (3) years, with effect from the date of their Instruments of Appointment, in accordance with the provisions of sections 5, 7 and 8 of the Central Bank Act, Chap. 79:02:-

Professor Surendra Arjoon (Economics)

Mr. Richard Duncan (Law)

Mr. Lancelot Jack (Industry and Commerce)

Mr. Terrence Walker (Administration)

Mr. Kirk Henry (Administration)

Ms. Lorraine Ferguson (Industry and Commerce)

Mr. Kern Gardiner (Accountancy)

The Board of Directors of the CBTT will therefore now comprise of the following persons:

Dr. Alvin Hilaire (Governor, CBTT)

Dr. Sandra Sookram (Deputy Governor, CBTT)

Mr. Vishnu Dhanpaul

Professor Surendra Arjoon

Mr. Richard Duncan Mr. Lancelot Jack

Mr. Terrence Walker

Mr. Kirk Henry

Ms. Lorraine Ferguson

Mr. Kern Gardiner

- END -

The Hon. Colm Imbert, Minister of Finance with members of the Board of Directors of the Central Bank of Trinidad and Tobago



From left to right: Mr. Lancelot Jack, Prof. Surendra Arjoon, Dr. Alvin Hilaire, Mr. Terrence Walker, Mr. Richard Duncan, The Hon. Colm Imbert, Mr. Kirk Henry, Dr. Sandra Sookram, Mr. Kern Gardiner, Ms. Lorraine Ferguson, Mr. Vishnu Dhanpaul